2020 QA Program and Registration for Attendees


Para Español, click aquí

Quechua Alliance Annual Meeting, December 4-5-6, 2020. Virtual edition
No previous knowledge of Quechua/Kichwa is needed to attend.

Quechua Alliance 2020 Preliminary Program: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3

DAY 1: FRIDAY, DECEMBER 4TH, 2020

Quechua Showcases: Panel #1 (50 minutes/minutos).
11:30am PT (California), 2:30pm ET (Philadelphia, Quito, Cusco), 8:30pm (Madrid)
Interactive 10-min presentations focused on education and promotion of Quechua.
Moderator: Candy Hurtado

• Opening remarks: UC Berkeley’s Center for Latin American Studies (Janet Waggaman), The Quechua Alliance (Américo Mendoza-Mori)

•  Introducing Ayni, a Beginner-level Southern Quechua Textbook
Alana DeLoge, Marilyn Manley, Carlos Molina-Vital

•  Corpus tools for Quechua studies: NLP for low-resource languages
Chad Howe

•  Incorporated Nouns in South Bolivian Quechua
Gabriel Gallinate, Noemy Condori and Yovana Gabriel

• Quechua mental health: Jap’iqa or Losing Your Soul
Noor Al-Hashemi

Quechua Showcase: Panel #2 (60 minutes/minutos)
12:30pm PT (California), 3:30pm ET (Philadelphia, Quito, Cusco), 9:30pm (Madrid)
Interactive 10-min presentations focused on education and promotion of Quechua.
Moderator: Arnold Arnez

• The Quechua Project and the Washington DC-area Quechua community
Shana Inofuentes, Mónica Flores, Luz Coca, Jennifer Albarracin 

• Wiñay kachun Qheswa Rimayninchij: La lengua y cultura del idioma Quechua relacionada con la madre naturaleza, práctica de las costumbres, los ritos y rituales.
Julia Garcia

Quechuata Rimay: Modern-day descendants of the Inca culture in social media.
Luz Merissa Vargas Sayritupac

Neo Andean Experiences: The Quechua Collective of New York
Elva Ambía, Jessica Huancacuri

Cultural Night & Concert with ‘La MafiAndina’, Kichwa rap band (1 hour/hora)
6pm PT (California), 9pm ET (Philadelphia, Quito, Cusco), 10pm (Cochabamba), +11am (Tokyo)
Hosted by Jenny Conejo & Dayanna Salas

Trilingual Quechua Storytelling, Asoc. Puriyninchik (Ayacucho, Perú)
Quechua poetry with Irma Álvarez-Ccoscco (USA, Apurímac)
Concert and Q&A ‘La MafiAndina’, música rap Kichwa (Quito, Ecuador)

DAY 2: SATURDAY, DECEMBER 5TH, 2020

Quechua Showcase: Panel #3 (60 minutes/minutos)
11:00am PT (California), 2:00pm ET (Philadelphia, Quito, Cusco), 8:00pm (Madrid)
Interactive 10-min presentations focused on education and promotion of Quechua.
Moderator: Valeria Andrango

QUIPU: Quechua knowledge Graph and digital initiative
Elwin Huaman

La enseñanza prescriptiva del Quechua en Bolivia
Epifania Guaraguara Villca

• Filosofía andina: Hanaqpacha, KayPacha, Uqupacha
Feliz Mamani Pocchuanca

• Kamaq Yachachiqkuna: Science in Quechua
Presenters: Keitel Cervantes-Salguero, Victor Chahuayo Sucñer
Christian Cervantes, Amelia Corzo Remigio, Miki Gonzalez, Walter Huaraca Huasco, Nancy Huaman, Shara Huaman Julluni, Mary Loayza, Maria Magdalena Kcala Alvaro, Manuel Marca Zevallos, Daniel Miranda Huallpa, Carlos Molina Vital, Eva Mühlbauer, Jermani Ojeda, Arawi Ruiz, Katari Quispe, Max Torres Valencia, Rosio Vega Quispe, Sandra Velazco.

Quechua Showcase: Panel #4 (60 minutes/minutos)
12:00pm PT (California), 3:00pm ET (Philadelphia, Quito, Cusco), 9:00pm (Madrid)
Interactive 10-min presentations focused on education and promotion of Quechua.
Moderator: Javier Muñoz-Díaz

La creatividad y los juegos lúdicos como herramienta para el desarrollo oral en estudiantes que aprenden el idioma quechua como L-2.
Eduin Coa Soto

Enseñanza de quichua santiagueño como L2 en el Laboratorio de Idiomas de la Universidad de Buenos Aires.
Mayra Juanatey, Josefina Navarro

Quechua, COVID y tecnología en Cancha-Cancha: ‘Aprendo en campo’
Carmen Rosa Huallanca Conde

Educación sexual en quechua
Carolina Cabrera, Josefina Navarro, Camila Ramirez, Mariana Labhart

Quechua Showcase: Panel #5 (40 minutes/minutos)
1:00pm PT (California), 4:00pm ET (Philadelphia, Quito, Cusco), 10:00pm (Madrid)
Interactive 10-min presentations focused on education and promotion of Quechua.
Moderator: Marial Quezada

Reflexiones acerca de la estandarización de la enseñanza del quechua bajo la línea directriz de ACTFL
Marisol Necochea, Jessica F. Cordiglia, Leonardo Velloso-Lyons

• Creación de videos educativos y de promoción en Quechua: Muestra visual
Diferentes participantes

Raymi Fest del Quechua Alliance (1 hours/hora)
6pm PT (California), 9pm ET (Philadelphia, Quito, Cusco), 10pm (Cochabamba), +11am (Tokyo)
Dancing together is an integral part of our annual Quechua Alliance gatherings, and this year won’t be the exception. For this virtual and interactive party our DJs will share a special selection of music from the Andes. During the Raymi (party) you can also propose tracks to the DJs. Tusuykusun! (Let’s dance!).

DAY #3 SUNDAY, DECEMBER 6TH, 2020

Film Screening of “Nothing is Left but Our Tenderness / Nada queda sino nuestra ternura” (Quechua and Spanish with English subtitles).
Online film screening will be available for a 24-hour period
Starting: 9:00am PT (California), 12:00pm ET (Philadelphia), 2pm Buenos Aires, 6:00pm (Madrid)

Q&A with film director Sébastien Jallade and Quechua educator Doris Loayza (conversation in Spanish)
4pm PT (California), 6pm CT (Chicago) 7pm ET (Philadelphia, Quito, Cusco), 8pm (Cochabamba)



ADDITIONAL ACTIVITIES: FREE WORKSHOPS

Workshops (Limited sports available, FREE. More info, here)

REGISTRATION FOR WORKSHOPS HERE

Workshop #1: Intro Quechua for English speakers. (50 minutes, in English)
9am PT (California), 12pm ET (Philadelphia, Quito, Cusco)

Workshop #2: Tools for Quechua social media creators (2 hours, in Spanish)
9am PT (California), 12pm ET (Philadelphia, Quito, Cusco)

alliance_banner